Classic vs Mesh?

smoothazndude

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 368 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

This topic may have been covered but I have not yet found more discussions.  I am a noob to SL and have been enjoying exploring the many worlds and lands which also includes some social aspects like chatting and just saying hello.  But I have had comments on my avatar; I have selected one of the default "Classic" avatars that I liked to start with.  With my avi, I made some small purchases of clothes and accessories to make the game seem more real and fun.  But I have received some comments about my "classic" look including a quip "Well, looks like someone needs an upgrade" when I said "Hello" in the Nearby Chat.  Another person IM'd me and suggested (kindly) that I might consider a "Mesh" body and who I might talk to for suggestions; another person mentioned brands and body types.  I have to say that some of the bodies do look nice but I kind of like my avatar TBH.  So in SL are "Mesh" considered the more attractive and more desirable vs Classic being less so?  I do not see a lot of "classic" avatars running around.  I did some checking on marketplace and I am unsure if I want to spend all that money on a mesh look.   Is this Classic vs Mesh a "thing" in SL?

Edited by smoothazndude
  • Like 6

That's really cool that you are hanging on to the classic avatar, I did the same for a long time. I was kind of anti mesh. In reality the classic avatars are mesh they are just not as smooth, lumpy fingers and no toes. I did away with my hands with what they call an alpha to make parts vanish. I made my hands vanish and I wore gloves to hide my lumpy fingers. 

It took me a good two years to go to mesh. Be sure to save your appearance so you can always go back to your avatar with your acquired outfit, don't be afraid to try body and head demos.