What warmed your heart/made you smile today? (In Second or Real Life)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 826 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

In these rather gloomy January days, it can be a little difficult to find the pockets of joy, but still there must be moments that truly make each and every one of us smile. What has prompted me to start this thread is an item on UK daytime TV programme, This Morning, but I believe has made the news worldwide.  The residents of a nursing home have put together a calendar of residents recreating famous paintings.  I think it is very uplifting to see. The old lovelies must have had a lot of fun. (I've checked the link below is secure, and contains some of the pictures.)

I think these two pictures are my favourites.

favourite.jpg

favourite 2.jpg

Edited by Marigold Devin
Spacing was bizarre.
  • Like 10
  • Thanks 4

I've been quarantining for nearly two years, not leaving the house except for vaccinations and boosters. The isolation has made it clear to me that human beings are social animals - despite how much some of us would like to define ourselves as "lone wolves." 🙂 This same isolation has had a marked impact on my creativity, so I LOVE to see examples of other people being artistic and imaginative.

On a smaller note, I loved to see the happy expression on my wife's face when I told her that I had ordered some more of her favorite coffee from Hawai'i. 

Girl with a Pearl Earring - Vermeer - 1.jpg

Girl with a Pearl Earring - Vermeer - 2.jpg

• Like 7
  • Thanks 1
  • Haha 2

2 minutes ago, Rat Luv said:

This news story 🙂

Utterly heartwarming.