Open Questions Survey for my academic thesis

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 567 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone!

I'm an university Italian student and I'm writing a thesis related to SL and the representation of Self through avatars. If you don't mind to have a break and reflect about your avatar and yourself, you might give your contribute to my research by answering the following open questions.

1. How do you feel the relationship between you and your avatar? Did you create your avatar trying to reproduce your RL appearance? Otherwise, did you create an avatar completely different to your RL appearance? Are you satisfied of the result? Do you feel fully represented?
  2. Do you perceive your avatar’s appearance is more attractive than your RL appearance?
  3. How do you feel your online behaviour changes compared to your offline behaviour? Here in SL, do you feel more extroverted, friendly, allowed to do things that you wouldn’t do in RL? Do you feel that some aspects of your behaviour are more ephatised in SL and that other aspects are omitted?
  4. Does the other residents' approving or disapproving influence the way you represent yourself through your avatar?
  5. Where does your avatar's name come from? Why did you choose it?

Thank you!

Do not hesitate to IM me or send a notecard in SL if you have any doubt or suggestion.

HelenKenobi

Hi Helen,