Viewer Keeps Freezing

RavenEmmaRiddle

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1510 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Evening guys! So this is my first time on the forums, and I come bearing bad news. I come to log into the SL Viewer and it works fine for about ten to fifteen minutes. I've done virus checks, cleaned up my PC and all that jazz. I am running Windows 10. Any advice as to what I should do?

Stephanie xxx

You aren't very clear about your difficulty.

Do you mean it locks up entirely, or that it freezes for a half-second then unfreezes (which is annoying). I had this problem. You know what the amazing fix was? Replace my mouse. Yes, it was a really old mouse that was going bad.

Edited by Alyona Su
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

@RavenEmmaRiddle When asking a tech question use the viewer's HELP->About... to get us the tech info we need. Paste it in with your question. 

Freeze... there are lots of different kinds of freezing in the SL viewers. Viewer freezes - never recovers, or recovers after a a few minutes or seconds, or freezes for <1 second. Or freezes the entire computer.

Until we have more info, there are too many possible issues to start listing them.

To do more on your own get the free tool CPUID HDMonitor. Check of overheating. Look to see if the GPU and/or CPU are hitting 100% use. You can use the Windows Task Manager and Resource Monitor to see what your computer is doing when the viewer freezes.

• Like 1

My apologies in advance if this isn't the right forum, I have three headaches simultaneously from my unsuccessful search for an answer. Thank you Google for the how to freeze bread link, but that's not what I asked for.

Whenever I go to edit an object, my viewer will freeze for about 4-6 seconds. every time this happens, I see a little text box hovering somewhere near the object that simply says 'edit'.