Editing pictures is hard, I can't make it look good

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 171 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I spend a lot of time on taking pictures in SL, because I am not good at editing. I must get the raw image as good as possible. I always think it looks worse, the more editing I do. I will not pay for Photoshop, so I make do with free programs.

I think my unedited pictures look more real.

Like this, raw image to the left and edited to the right. I think I have done too much. I think one arm turned out well. But the other is overdone. I did not like the armpit shadow and it was a shadow of the hair on the arm. When I tried to fix it, it looks worse.

What am I satisfied with? The right arm came out well from behind the hair. A vignette adds drama. But the left arm is not good. I am going to delete the pictures and try for better ones tomorrow.

I did the old flexi hair trick: One picture with the hair, and one without hair. Then I layered them and erased the part of the top picture so the arm was visible. That makes the right arm look better, I think. It is not overworked.

How much time do you spend on getting it 'right'?

after edit.png

• Like 2

1 hour ago, Marianne Little said:

I spend way more time inworld working on angles, EEPS, and viewer filters than I do on outside editing. I can spend 30 or more minutes on one shot inworld.

Outside the viewer I only crop and change colors or lighting.  So, less than 2 minutes editing.  I never do fine detail work like fixing clipping issues.  If I don't like the way something clips, I change the angle or fix the clipping before I take photo if I see it.

• Like 2

I think your vignetting edit here is wonderful. I don't always have the patience to post process.