PBR Substance Painter versus Second Life

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 76 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello, I am new to PBR in general and trying to setup my workflow for creating PBR materials in Substance Painter.

Despite all the advised settings tne material looks different in SL than in SP.

I think I tried everything so please give me new information to try out.

calibrationSLresult.thumb.JPG.ebfded1528f32125ac9e34b7281ba38c.JPGcalibrationSP.thumb.JPG.f632cbda18ce3fb015afdaa36576734e.JPG Substance

The images are screenshots of 1 side of a cube.

Substance Settings:

Template: '''PBR - Metallic Roughness Alpha-test (starter_assets)'''

Document Resolution: '''1024'''

Normal Map Format: '''OpenGL (Y+)'''
Compute Tangents Per Fragment: '''YES'''

"Display Settings":

Tonemapping - Function: '''ACES'''

HDRI equivalent of new default midday (for use in third party tools): https://polyhaven.com/a/cloud_layers

When exporting:

Output Template: '''glTF PBR Metal Roughness'''
    Size: '''Based on each Texture Set's size'''
    Padding: '''Dilation + default background color - 8 bit'''

The Stone texture "stone-wall---02.sbsar" comes from the Substance 3D community.

SL settings:

Viewer Second Life Release 7.0.1.6894459864 (64bit) on the beta grid

Environment Midday (I wonder why the sun is not in the center as it is in the Midday Legacy)

Edited by Marcthur Goosson
made mistake

1 hour ago, Marcthur Goosson said:

HDRI equivalent of new default midday (for use in third party tools): https://polyhaven.com/a/cloud_layers

1 hour ago, Marcthur Goosson said:

Environment Midday (I wonder why the sun is not in the center as it is in the Midday Legacy)

There's likely your answer. Differences in looks are mostly because of differences in environment settings (especially volumetric atmospheric effect and, in your case, the sun position, in either Substance Painter and Second Life.