Best viewer to use?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1461 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey guys.. not sure where to post :/ 

Seriously need help. I’ve picked up a new laptop (finally) off Facebook & for some reason Firestorm (which I’ve always used) refuses to render on this. Constantly freezing & crashing on the lowest graphics possible. No idea why.

Time to choose an alternative... any suggestions please? :( 

• Sad 1

Assuming you are not using a gamerlaptop, usually for cheap laptops 3D accelleration is minimal or even not existent.

And the older this kind of laptop the slimmer your chance of running a viewer.

You might try dowloading ( much ) older versions of the SL-viewer as a last resort.

Can you tell me anything about the graphical components ( GPU ) of this laptop ?

• Like 3

1 minute ago, InventedSuicide said:

Uuuhhhh; I wouldn’t know about that >.< I’m not tech savvy at all. I can tell you it’s an Asus X453M... not sure if that’s of any use? 

https://www.asus.com/Laptops/X453MA/specifications/

Which states Integrated Intel CPU only .. so the graphics is integrated into the CPU.

No. You cannot run SL on this. Sorry.

• Like 3

4 minutes ago, InventedSuicide said:

Jeesh. That’s me with a hole in my pocket. The guy said it works great for gaming. Oh well. :( 

THe guy probably only plays Solitaire .. :|

Wait .. however. .. if you know how to obtain drivers for the graphics and setup 3D in it you might be able to get it running. You need a techsavvy person at your laptop for that though.

Edited by TDD123
  • Like 2

10 minutes ago, Lillith Hapmouche said:

It's a wonder that it even runs Win10 with just 2 GB.

Congratulations, you bought yourself an overpriced typewriter! Ask before you buy stuff. 

I'm sure she already feels awful, and it looks like she did ask and was mislead/lied to. No need to kick her while she's down.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 1