I've only been on here for about an hour and I'm ready to delete.

zephyrblaze

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3500 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Sl isn't a game you can 'pick up and go' like most other games out there, it's progressive - you have to learn how to do things, i've been here 6 years now and i'm still learning how to do new things.   Most importantly you have to be willing to learn how to do said things.   But on the same plate, SL is not for everyone and not everyone is going to enjoy it :D Things won't happen over night here in this virtual realm simply because you wish it to be, it does take time and lots of it :D My only advice is to give it a few days, or a week or two, and see how you feel then, 1 hour isn't enough time to see the potential behind this platform 

sorry to hear about your experience, zephyr, but dont give up too soon. There is help out there :) Even though i havent been in SL very long, i understand that new residents used ot get sent immediately to an orientation area, but i guess they dont do that anymore. I would suggest using your search and find either Helping Haven, or NCI (New Citizens Incorporated) at Kuula. Both places should have beginner tutorials for just about everything you need to know to be comfortable with SL, and often have volunteers there who can answer questions. It does get easier with time :)

Second Life takes a long time to figure out. It has a high learning curve. That's why the Lindens decided to remove any kind of help for new users and people leave in droves. It's a pretty unique world though and it can be very rewarding if you decide to stick around.

i can imagine how you feel. I had exactly the same 8 years ago.