Land Dimensions?

alternatego

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4122 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I am quite new to SL and am looking to buy some land (1536 sqm). I have also been looking at houses for the land. My question is how do i find out the dimensions of the and as most of the houses mention their measurements i.e. 30x30?

I would appreciate any help in this.

menu: World \ Show \ Property Lines

will draw parcel lines on the ground. can use to check the shape of the land before you buy it

a 512m regular shape is 16x32 m

so 1536m can be any configuration of that basic shape x 3

can also be an irregular shape or even a disjoint shape (two or more seperate parcels joined (linked) together

use property lines to make sure before you buy it

• Like 1

The dimesnions of a standard 512 parcel are 16m x 32m.

Therefore, the dimensions of 3 x 512s (1536), side by side are 32m x 48m, and a 30x30 house will fit ok.

It's only if the three 512s in the 1536 are not side by side that you'd have to work out its dimensions, but two side by side 512s (1024 parcel) are 32x32m so the house would still fit.

Hi Alternate, welcome to our slowly dying world and these forae. Well, house sizes are quite simple, aren't they?

30x30 m = 900m², so that house (or should I say palace) should fit on a 1536 parcel ... in theory. 1536 m² is quite a standard size for SL land, it's 3x 512 m². Yeah, so you put your free 512 in and pay tier for 1024. Ideally you find a parcel that is 48x32 but land is often shaped in strange ways. Along Linden routes or waterways they are cut out very strangely so you have lots of little nooks and crannies that are only good for the prims but not really to build on.