Unsolicited Advice to SL Merchants

Rufferta

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4287 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

This is for merchants who still maintain virtual stores in SL.

I realize this is presumptuous, as I am a newbie and all, but after visiting a lot of shops in the last few weeks (both as part of a hunt, and for buying things for myself) I found a lot of things that irritated me and detracted from my shopping experience. I'm hoping that pointing these things out may help some one else who is just starting out.

First off, I use the Marketplace as a starting point. I will search for something, and then look for a line that says "See this in Second Life". I also do a profile check when I find articles in SL that I like, and search from that. After a few unfortunate purchases, I will not buy something from someone who is does not have a 'virtual brick and virtual mortar' store. Even if the store doesn't have enough room to display everything, at least they are showing they feel connected to SL. I have also found that there are some great stores in SL that don't advertise on the Marketplace.

First off, choose a low-lag location. I don't have a magic ball to tell you how to do this, I just know that if I have been in a store for over five minutes and everything is still grey, I probably won't stay.

Second, be sure that your store can be found under search. I've found several instances where the store name as displayed on the store and on the merchandise doesn't match.  

If I'm just wandering through a neighborhood and see your store, it would be nice if a sign outside would give some clue as to what was being sold. (If I go inside and I still don't know, you're in trouble...)

Teleport directions. Have you checked yours lately? If you have changed the terrain or the building, you might need to check the teleport location on your advertising.

newbabbage_001.png

Enough said?