Problems layering clothes

JackieTeal

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1648 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to SL, and I've just bought a new Slink body, but I find that if I try to layer clothes (e.g. a long sweater over jeans) bits of the jeans poke through the sweater.  Is there something I'm doing wrong?  If there is, please explain to me in simple terms that a noob will understand!  Thanks. :)

Hi Jackie-

If you mean mesh clothing, sometimes that will just occur.  Doesn't even matter if you're purchasing an entire outfit from one designer, it still happens and its called "clipping" and it has to do with the design of the clothing as well as the rigging (how it fits the body).  I'm sure there are other more technical answers, but that's a good one for starters. 

You'll just learn by trial, error & success and put together some great outfits!

Welcome to SL! 

EDIT- infact, I just took this picture for a different forum thread- but you can see on the left- my avi's right leg, where the white shirt "clips" into the pink coat.

The shirt & jacket are one piece- comes together- so it just happens.   However, different pieces, especially from different creators might tend to clip more often.

today.jpg

Edited by Pixie Kobichenko
  • Like 1

The problem is that there isn't cloth physics in SL.  Mesh clothing is "rigged", so that it will bend and move with your avatar.  It's also "phantom", which means it has no collision envelope regarding avatars or other objects.  But one piece of clothing does not recognize the existence of another, so if they interfere, one simply passes through the other.

If clothes are designed as a single piece, this isn't a problem.  If they are two separate pieces, the problem occurs a LOT.

One way to avoid this is to have one of the clothing items be a clothing layer, or an applied texture, rather than a 3D mesh object.

• Like 2