Dumb Question: Changing AV Name

kurt7D8 Avon

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4621 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I thought that with the new naming system, that maybe LL would cut some slack and allow a name edit.  Not even for $L -- it's just a fee.

My name is kurt7D8 Avon.  I thought I was slick.  "7D8" is the year I began teaching.  "7D8" is base 16 (hexadecimal) for "2008," the year I retired. 

But given that I was an English teacher for 30 years and made my first name lower case is driving me crazy!  I almost want an ALT only so that I can change "k" to "K."  You think I should contact LL or am I wasting my time??

And what's up with the name change policy??

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

the name you choose becomes the name of your account. i did the same thing with my w instead of W. and everyone thinks wiked is an adjective instead of a noun which pisses me off to no end. If there is a way ( not including using SL veiwer) i wouold also be most interested, but.............i doubt it!

If it's only "k" to "K", I actually think you can have it done.

I can not be sure, but I heard about it 2 years ago. So if they still do it? It is the one and only thing LL will do with your name. All other changes, not at all. Only change your Display name, and we know that many other users don't even turn on the option to see Display names.

Some clarifications.

Your "user name" is the name you log in with. It is not meant to be visible beyond being a unique identifier, like a social security number or other government ID. This is unique and cannot be changed.

Your "display name" is your avatar name, what you want to be called by people you meet in SL. This can be changed and it is not unique, so there may be others with the same name just like in real life.