What is a body applier?

Tinkvd

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 908 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I’m new to second life and I’m trying to figure out, what type of body do I want for my avi but one of the bodies that I’m thinking about buying says  woman body appears. What is a appear?  

Edited by Tinkvd

• Tinkvd changed the title to What is a body applier?

Appliers are nifty little scripted items that are used for applying textures. Like skin texture on your body or lipstick on your head. (There's also another way to apply textures on your avatar called Bakes On Mesh or BOM). 

If you are not sure what you are looking at, it's good to try a free demo of that item first. 

• Like 1

Hello Tinkvd

First, welcome to Second Life and our community!

34 minutes ago, Tinkvd said:

one of the bodies that I’m thinking about buying says  woman body appears. What is a appear?  

In order to better assist you with your question, you might want to consider sharing the name of the body you are considering.

In addition to the answer that June shared above, YouTube has many tutorial videos that might be helpful to you. For instance, this tutorial [link] will introduce you to avatar customization and it covers appliers. You might also hear the term Bakes on Mesh (BoM), and this other tutorial [link] might be helpful.

Wish you a great Second Life experience!

• Like 1

21 minutes ago, Echelon Alcott said:

Hello Tinkvd

First, welcome to Second Life and our community!

In order to better assist you with your question, you might want to consider sharing the name of the body you are considering.