Second Life on Apple's New M1 chips

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 902 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I just loaded it on my new MacBook Air, which is the lowest model, and it seems to run fine on a mid-range graphics setting. I did find issues with it, though. For one, I am using Firestorm (the official viewer may behave differently, but is so poorly featured I won't use it), and the only way I could open it was to go to Privacy and Security and allow it there. Also, when I maximize the FS window, it covers everything else, including it's own system-level toolbar (or perhaps doesn't even have one?), so I cannot minimize it and I cannot access the Dock. I am new to MacOS, there is probably a way to switch among open windows using a keyboard shortcut, but I don't know it yet and had to use Com-Q and quit FS to do anything else.

10 minutes ago, CaerolleClaudel said:

the only way I could open it was to go to Privacy and Security and allow it there. [...] when I maximize the FS window, it covers everything else, including it's own system-level toolbar [...]  I cannot minimize it and I cannot access the Dock [...] switch among open windows using a keyboard shortcut

All this has everything to do with Mac OS and nothing with the M1 processor.

In Preferences you can change from full-screen mode to in-window. You can also cycle apps and the Finder by pressing Command-Tab.

7 minutes ago, Arduenn Schwartzman said:

All this has everything to do with Mac OS and nothing with the M1 processor.

In Preferences you can change from full-screen mode to in-window. You can also cycle apps and the Finder by pressing Command-Tab.