one prim mesh

KoUsagiHime

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1096 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Do you mean, how does one make mesh objects with an LI of 1? The short answer is to make them less complex, make even less complex LoD models, and an even less complex physics model. The long answer involves thousands of web pages on ways of optimising mesh models for upload into SL.

Or do you mean that when you upload a mesh object it becomes a link set of more than one object? The only reason I know of for this happening (and I'm not an expert, so there may well be others) is that you've made the model with more than eight materials. Blender materials (I don't know what they might be called in other 3D modelling programs) correspond roughly to SL faces. SL objects can only have eight faces, numbered 0 to 7. So if you try to upload a mesh model with more than eight materials the uploader will break it up into smaller components each with eight or fewer SL faces. To avoid this you need to be efficient with your use of materials, using as few different textures as possible, for example, and making sure that all the Blender faces (as opposed to SL faces) using the same texture are combined in a single material.

• Like 2

7 hours ago, KoUsagiHime said:

i have seen several people make one prim meshes, how?

First, did you use the decimate modifier so that you model is less complex?  You might try searching on YouTube for some tutorials on this modifier.

54 minutes ago, Dhyaanee said:

First, did you use the decimate modifier so that you model is less complex?  You might try searching on YouTube for some tutorials on this modifier.

Yes but it's not really that effective. The rule for Maya and Blender users who want to make mesh for Second Life is that you need to spend at least 90 percent of the time in edit mode, not object mode, because that's where you find most of the really useful tools.