Genus Babyface Mesh Hair Issue (Help)

Amorenna Bae

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1456 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am new to Genus and am really enjoying it and its flexibility with creating your own unique look. However, most of my mesh hair that looked great on my Catwa head is just...odd on my new Genus head. I've tried everything I can think of. If the hair has a resizing option, it only seems to work some of the time. Unrigged hair seems to be odd too no matter what I do. Any ideas, or am I just in need of finding more hairs that fit the Genus head better?

Attached is an example photo. It's pr!tty April.

Thanks for any and all help. :)

genushair.jpg

• Like 1

Genus heads are forehead heavy, by design (at least, the two I've tried), and the eyes tend to be set a little lower than on other heads I've played with, or in system avatars. Also, the ears are large, set low, and angled out, although that's something that's not too hard to fix using the HUD.

One of the things you can do to alleviate the way that the forehead dominates, at least a bit, is to lengthen the chin, and adjust the mouth downward as seems necessary. Then adjust head length and shape accordingly. Also, you might try reducing the length of the head (from back to front) a bit: again, Genus heads tend to be long, I think.

In terms of hair, what works best are non-rigged styles that you can adjust one axis at a time, either using the scripts in the hair, or by conventional editing. Some rigged styles, I've discovered, simply don't work well with the head. I suppose that must be true of most heads, to some degree or other.

(What really bothered me about the Baby Face, and why I abandoned it to return to the "Classic," was the lip shape, which is really pronounced and hard to modify.)

20 minutes ago, Amorenna said:

Thank you for your reply! I'll give it a try!