Sending updates to past buyers

Steve Atlanta

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4438 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Greetings,

I am a builder of large roleply starships,  and I often  add NEW  features to these Starships.  I always try and send all past buyers the new version,  but theres a problem.

To re send  items, or  re deliver them,  is very difficult in SL Marketplace.  I have to negatiate a wierd ca;lendar set up,  then seach  page  by page and redeliver them one at a time,  sometimes searhes  80+ pages!   Why can't  SL Marketplace have a feature where  when you update an item,  you can just click one button and  "Redeliver all"  to everyone who has ever  bought that product,  it would be a VERY  convenient thing to do!

One problem I see is that most update the name as well.  If you have an item listed as Item V1.1 and then change it to an new update with the name Item V1.2, then that will show as a new listing.  If you don't do this, the box sent to the customer will have the same name and they wont know which is which.

For this reason there are vending system with servers as well as update scripts that most use to do this. You can find many of these on MP.

MP has issues with deliveries as it is, I can only imagine what a nightmare mass delivery would be.

Easiest way is something like the hippo update server (or something similar), though you have to have the script in the original item to begin with.  Then you can have your creations check with update server on rez or at specific intervals.  Then if there is a new version, the update server sends out the update automatically.