Going from Classic Av to Newer Av

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 92 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello. I want to change my av from classic to one of the newer ones. I would want to change body and head. Is there a certain one that is better than the others? Are there pros and cons to them? 

I have a large amount of clothes, skins, hair, etc. that I would like to use with the new body and head. Is there an easy way to find out what will work with the newer ones?

I am not a new member. I have been playing since April 2005. Please recommend any and all ideas.

Thank you. 

• Like 3

I'm not as experienced with what's at the forefront of the mesh avatar spectrum, but you'll certainly get good answers from whoever posts after me. My avatar body and head are by Rebirth, and my head uses the old SL UV map and all, unlike a lot of the newer heads. My current avatar is my third mesh incarnation, and I went in the order: Classic, Kemono, Tweenster, Rebirth, over the course of about 6 years. I do know that BoM is the way to go (probably an unspoken thing by now), because even old system layer stuff can be put on it, and a lot of that old stuff even looks really good on a newer avi. Some of it even maps a little more accurately.

You'll want to avoid any body or head that still uses appliers.

I do have a Lucybody avatar, and it's compatible with all of the clothing for the Maitreya Lara, though I don't think most of the top name avatars are going to have much crossover with clothes. Fortunately, unlike earlier mesh stuff that came in 5 sizes and still looked wonky, most good designers these days are including versions for several different brands of mesh avatars. Always check the ad to make sure they have your body covered, no pun intended.

Edited by PheebyKatz
  • Like 1

There are pros and cons to any mesh body or head. To figure out which are best for you depends on a few questions.