Will land ever be priced fairly?

Lewis Nerd

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 210 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So at the moment, I own 1/8 of a mainland region and at the maximum sq/m allowed for my tier.  That costs me $31 a month (plus taxes because I am a UK resident).

If I was to buy an adjacent 512 sq/m plot to my land that's abandoned, that would put me into the 1/4 region tier and cost me $60 a month, whereas 512 sq/m on its own is $4/month.

Why is it so difficult for LL to accept - even after all these years - that it should be a price per sq/m owned, within those sq/m total brackets so I only pay $4 (or lower, as it's in the higher ownership bracket) more than present, rather than spending $29 for land that I mostly don't own?  $4 I can afford, $29 I can't justify. I am pretty sure if tiers were a 'proportional cost within a bracket' there would be a lot more people buying odd sized bits of land and LL would be making more money, rather than nothing on these little parcels.

Yes, I could have bought a larger parcel at the back of my property recently but that would have again cost me $29 a month extra and I'd still not be getting my full value for money for the tier I'm paying.

Even the Premium/Premium Plus argument fails here because although I'd get 1024 sq/m 'free' in plus which is 'worth' $13, it would cost me $18 per month extra and I'm pretty sure the other 'extras' don't cover the $5 difference.

I know there are arguments of mainland v island/region ownership but a whole island is way beyond what I can afford for what is (and always has been), essentially, a casual game to me, but I've owned this particular plot of land and expanded as neighbours have come and gone, for a long time and I'm quite attached to my nice little roadside plot.