Managing your inventory?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1411 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been a resident for many years now, have acquired items consistently, and have attempted to sort through my inventory and delete random crap that I don't need on and off. I'm at a point where I need to consider doing it again, as the loading time and general difficulty that I have locating items is getting to be too much of a hassle. So, what I'd like to know is what you folks do to organize your items and keep your inventory count reasonable?  I've considered "Organizer" tools on MP, but I'm skeptical on their ease of use. I'd hate to get halfway into it and realize I'm only making a bigger mess. Are there any tricks? 🤔

I usually try to keep my inventory at around 8,000-10,000 objects, if it spikes beyond that I'll purge it of old stuff. I recently decided that keeping a backup registry of boxed items in my inventory was a bit of a waste of space, and plan on putting them in a single prim for future use, sorted by brand, rather than having endless folders of backups spread out throughout my inventory, but I've yet to implement it.

I also go through the folders I get when I unbox things, delete all the landmarks and notecards (unless the instructions are vital), as well as any 'sizes' for other bodies that I don't own or use. For furniture and such I never really had a system, but I'll be purging that folder soon and start sorting things by type rather than brand (i.e. 'chairs', 'decor', etc) to get a better overview of what I have, than my current system of scrolling until I come across a chair (which doesn't necessarily even have 'chair' in the object name) that I'd forgotten about.

As for organizer tools .. Meh, I feel skeptical of them as well, and I don't know that I'd trust a script to mess around with my inventory in that way.

• Like 1