Keep Disconnecting

Karallis

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1605 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Hi, new to SL - my friend is getting back into it so I thought I'd have a go. Problem is, I get disconnected every minute or so. After going through a bunch of threads, I've managed to piece together that my packet loss ranges from 0.5 to 7% depending on region, and my ping sim is usually 1000ms, which is Rather High. I've tried experimenting with bandwidth and graphics settings to fix it, but it only changed when bandwidth was set to 2k, sending ping to 525ms for the first test, but it jumped back up with every subsequent test. Would someone mind helping me figure out what's going wrong here?

(Bear in mind I'm very new to MMOs, so I may need some explanations on terminology and a bit of hand-holding with networking stuff)

7 answers to this question

The only acceptable value for packet loss is 0.0% 

SL will log you out if no traffic has been received for 60 seconds.

Your ping is insane.

The bandwidth slider in SL is misnamed. It only affects incoming UDP traffic (time sensitive single use data), if you have problems, lower is better. It does not affect the speed objects load (etc)_ which will always be as fast as your net connection permits.

It's sounding a lot like your Friends net connection is junk. This could be between your friends PC and their router (wifi and SL are not great friends), or it could be between your friends router and their ISP.

I would suggest you start by getting your friend to use a wired connection from their PC to the router.