Question with mirroring linked object

lomemori

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1834 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, I recently got the skybox, but wanted to try it to mirror so I can make it wider. I am very new to scripting, and by reading the threads related to my question, I saw some people said it's impossible, or some people said it's possible but need to take risk. I did saw there was an old thread with script shard but it's made in 2005 so I don't think this will work anymore. Marketplace does have some mirroring items already, but the ones recommended by other users are pretty expensive.

My skybox is modifiable, but no copy. Is there any way to mirroring skybox object other than getting the items in marketplace?

I am using TDE Industrial loft skybox, just in case. 

I think you are probably referring to Jeffrey Gomez's system, Magic  Mirror, which uses a very simple pair of scripts.  One is in the original object to be copied.  The other is in a brand new prim.  When you click on the original, its script grabs all of the prim parameters and sends them to the script in the other object, when you can choose to have them mirrored across any plane.  It was a popular tool for its time (2005), but of course was always limited to working with individual prims rather than linksets.  And won't do anything for a mesh object.  I'm not sure that the Magic Mirror is still distributed in SL but many of us still have it kicking around in inventory.

If your skybox is made from linked prims, then yes, there are tools around to flip linksets .. just don't get your hopes up for a perfect result (the prims will flip fine, textures not so much)

Mesh items can not be mirrored at all inside SL, even though from a technical perspective they would be the easiest.

9 hours ago, steph Arnott said:

Is due to the legal matter of ownership.