Creating

BlkPassion

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2095 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I just opened a shop in the marketplace, and I would like to make clothing in the different mesh sizes available. Do I have to purchase all the mesh sizes in order for me to make products for it? Can someone please help me? I'm fairly new to SL and still learning how things work in here.  Thank you!

7 answers to this question

I'm not quite sure what you are asking.  If you are selling things, you do have to own them.  If you are making the mesh items yourself, then yes, you either make versions in multiple sizes or you make fitmesh that will be compatible with the buyer's avatar.  If you are selling clothing that someone else made, then you have to get versions of the various sizes and styles that you will be selling.

While you should make mesh clothing to fit either the Standard Mesh Sizing shapes, or fitted mesh (fitmesh for short) to fit several of the most popular mesh bodies, you don't have to "purchase all the mesh sizes."  The Standard Mesh Sizing shapes are free on the Marketplace, and mesh body creators offer "developer kits" for creators making products for their mesh bodies.  These may be free, or may be available at a (usually) very reasonable price from the mesh body creator.

You are starting out. So, the basics are:

There are System/Classic avatars. These are more less the original avatar built into the viewer and have been around for a long time.

There are Mesh Avatars that are the newer iteration of the avatar. Basically these are a custom user made mesh body attached to the system avatar that covers it. A second skin...