Looking For A Teacher

jrfan98

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2232 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Caledon Oxbridge University has a free Basic Scripting class, and a Scripting Office hour.   

If you have the time, and the classes fit with your in-world schedule, I would recommend taking classes from several of the in-world teaching institutions.  Different instructors will have a slightly different focus/emphasis/way of explaining things, so attending several classes on the same subject, from different places, can help round out the information you're learning.

In addition the excellent suggestions already provided, I'd suggest browsing these forums to get a feel for how people tackle scripting problems.   Then find a simple project that interests you, try to tackle it, and keep on asking for help and advice here.   That's how I got started all those years ago, and I'm still learning things from what I read here.

The problem is that most experienced scripters don't have the time to give private lessons but many of us do hang about in this forum and help people out as and when questions come up.   Similarly, you might want to join the College of Scripting's inworld group, which is very friendly and helpful to people who want to ask questions where they get stuck on a script (also it's very helpful simply to lurk and watch what questions come up, and then try to solve them yourself).    Other groups I can recommend are Scripts and Script Academy (for the sake of transparency, I'm a moderator in one and an owner of the other) .    Builders Brewery is often pretty good for scripting questions, too. 

• Like 2

Class is... IN!

1. rez a prim.

2. edit the prim, and open the "Content" tab in the edit box.

3. click the "New Script" tab.

4. open the new script in the contents.

5. change the....  llSay(0, "Touched.");..... to this ... llSay(0,  llDetectedName(0) +  "Touched me !");