Realistic Skins..

Raven Serrurier

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2078 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

What skin is the 'best' or most realistic is a matter of taste.  There are many fantastic skin makers in SL.  To find the best one for you, look in blogs for creators you like and then go around to their skin stores in SL and try demo's. 

You are going to find skins that you love, but that may not work well with your shape as skins work with shapes to produce the 'look' of your avatar.  So someone saying one is the "best' isn't necessarily going to be the 'best' on your avatar.

What Amethyst says is definitely true. I have a skin that works perfectly for my casual 'tomboy' shape, but looks dreadful on the face of my older 'clubbing' shape. It is, however quite realistic (not that, as a newb, I'm any authority (yet!)). I found it because I was looking for something without makeup. It's the promo [AZO] Marichka skin, and you might give it a try.

Something else though, regarding realism. Most people won't see you up close and personal (unless you're intimate, 'personal space' is greater in SL than RL), and at a distance, the resolution goes down. This can change your appearance drastically, as the client tries to average the pixels for a smaller rendition. When judging your appearance, always dolly the camera out, and see it that perfect face actually works from far away. There's a good reason for "stage makeup". ;)

Realistic is such a short description. Do you mean a photosourced skin? I know that Tellaq uses a lot of that, and also visible pores, and the male skins have a lot of muscles. Tellaq used to have a small selection of female skins. Have they disappeared? They were tucked away on the second floor, but I haven't been there in a long time.

Try the Body Co? http://www.flickr.com/photos/thebodyco/with/8368144151/#photo_8368144151