Looking for complete female avatar - not so girly

Desertway

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4460 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm very new to SL and I would like to use an avatar that is not so girly, a little more rock and roll and a little less revealing. The only alternative I'm finding are very formal, Victorian style avatars. Can someone make a recommendation for a shop? Thanks.

I never buy complete avatars, so I have no recommendations for you .  However you should think about it carefully before investing in one.  While complete avatars are convenient, do you really want to look like a lot of other people?  Unless you see an avatar that you really fall in love with, I'd suggest putting your own together by buying the skin, hair, eyes, clothing etc. separately.  You'll be much happier with it in the long run. 

You can make your own shape if you want a truly unique look but they are available for sale too if your not comfortable doing that. Keep in mind that shape and skin together make people look the way they do.  So buy the skin first and then make a shape or make/buy a shape first then shop for a skin that looks good with it.   Most skin makers also offer shapes that go with the skin, or shape maker include 'style' cards to tell you what skin was used in the picture.  But if you buy them this way, again you'll look like a lot of other people.  

NEVER BUY a skin or shape unless you can try it on first as a demo.  The pictures you see of them will sometimes look different than it will in person.  You may like the picture, but not like it once you see it on yourself.

Just be sure that whatever you get that it is a modifiable. The longer your here the more your going to want to change little things about your avatar until your completely satisfied with it.  You'll be able to pick up the skills to do that along the way, even if you don't have them now.