Can you use a Meta Quest 3 (or 2) in SL?

I'm planning on getting a Meta Quest 3 VR headset in the near future and was wondering if it'd work in SL. I searched on Google but it kept coming up with results about the Oculus Quest. If anyone knows I'd much appreciate the info. Cheers. :)

Darren

There were some projects to implement VR in SL, but I don't think any are still maintained.

tl;dr, I'm not an expert, but from what I've heard in passing, adding VR to a game/experience is a lot more involved than just adding support for the hardware, if you want an experience that doesn't make most people dizzy. SL wasn't designed for VR, and good support for it will probably never happen.

Edited by Quistess Alpha
  • Thanks 2

The Oculus Quest is technically the Meta Quest 1.  I haven't used it play SL VR since my desktop computer died. SL VR isn't very dizzying if you are in 3rd person view. Our avatars look different in VR than how they look on a 2D screen. 

The connection goes like so: Quest headset w/ Quest OS -> PC w/ Rift OS -> Steam VR OS -> Firestorm VR

Here's my old post. The method to connect has probably changed and hopefully has gotten better.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1