Detect/Sense an object's over text

NixSteven

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 615 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi There,

I am new to LSL Scripting and I am wanting to create a script. My idea is to rez a prim (lets say prim 1) next to another prim (prim 2) which has a hover text. And I want prim 1 to detect/sense the prim 2's hover text and send a message to me.

Can you please provide some guidelines how to implement this? Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

• NixSteven changed the title to Detect/Sense an object's over text
20 minutes ago, sandi Mexicola said:

I didn't know you could do that!  👍

It's a relatively new addition to llGetObjectDetails().

ETA: Specifically it was added to the wiki page on April 14th (2022).

Edited by Quistess Alpha
  • Thanks 2

1 hour ago, Quistess Alpha said:

It's a relatively new addition to llGetObjectDetails().

ETA: Specifically it was added to the wiki page on April 14th (2022).

They added it on my birthday, and I missed it!

A lot of us would have answered, "Nope, can't do that!"

Edited by Love Zhaoying

Hi there, can someone please explain me why i am unable to capture the hover text on some objects? I was able to capture the hover text of an object using 

llGetObjectDetails((string)llDetectedKey(0),[OBJECT_TEXT])

But for some objects (which has active script in it) won't detect the hover text. I am confused. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

Possibly the detected object is a linkset and the hovertext is from a child link instead of the root? 

(If so, I don't think there's a way past that barrier with current script functionality. There's a recent accepted jira that would let us gradually walk the links of another object the way we can the scripted object itself, but there doesn't seem to be any development scheduled on it yet.)