Help with creating script for synchronized auto open/close double mesh doors?

siennasprout

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1255 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm extremely new to LSL scripting, so apologies in advance!

I have some mesh doors I've been working on scripting and they've been giving me a lot of trouble. I really want to avoid using a touch to open script as a matter of personal preference, so my goal is finding a way to make it so these double doors open when an avatar walks within range. I successfully managed to get an auto open/close script working using an invisible hinge prim linked individually with each door, and that would be fine if it weren't for the fact the doors don't open at the same time. This is a problem because they're cafe doors, and the sound that I scripted it to play is a shop bell, so it plays twice as each door individually opens.

Unfortunately, as they're mesh doors I have no idea how to script them to move together and play a sound once since by nature of being mesh they seem to require their own individually linked hinge prims. Is there any way to fix this? Thanks in advance for any help!

3 hours ago, siennasprout said:

I'm extremely new to LSL scripting, so apologies in advance!

I have some mesh doors I've been working on scripting and they've been giving me a lot of trouble

if the doors are going to be a for sale item then best to post in Inworld Employment. Scripters scripting for for-sale items tend to have for-sale scripting skills

if the doors are for your own personal use then post in Wanted for somebody who might help you on a personal basis to become a scripter

we can't really answer your question without seeing the doors themselves. Like are they linked as a pair, are they linked to the main build, etc. Will the doors open out or in, or will they swing both ways like batwings, etc