Blender Texturing/Materials Question

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1433 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello! I'm relatively new to Blender and using it within Second Life but have decided to use this lockdown as an opportunity  to learn. I've come into an issue which i'm sure is just me doing something stupid. When assigning different materials to different 'walls' on my Blender models, when importing them into Second Life, I find that the textures on one wall will be correct and on another wall at a 90 degree angle. Is there something i'm doing wrong? Or is it a case of having to use materials wisely to combat this issue.

Here's a photo for an example of what I mean...

walls-001.png

Any help would be much appreciated! Stay safe out there, everyone! 

This is a well known flaw in Blender, it tends to rotate the various island in all kinds of weird ways. There is this strange myth among SL builders that Blender is good at UV mapping. It isn't it's horrendously bad at it. The solution to this and all the other problems it creates, is to check the UV map before you export and, of course, correct all the mistakes manually.

Edited by ChinRey
  • Like 1

To preview texture on model in Blender

Assuming Blender 2.8+

1. Select your object, assign it a material.

Screenshot_1351.png.eaf79fee906631cb3f87dc8a4db3d738.png

2. Click the dot next to base color. Select 'Image Texture' from the menu this opens. Then browse for an image texture to use

Screenshot_1352.png.bfbfb4c4c17aa22841213d4605418afb.png

3. Set viewport shading to Material Preview

Screenshot_1353.png.7a8eab5f447384c55d40a511e78d5534.png

You can fix UV issues in the UV Editor.

UV Editing

Blender Guru recently made a nice video on UV Mapping.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

43 minutes ago, BenjilaBonj said:

Thank you so much for the quick reply. That's frustrating, what are the indications of this on the UV map?