Would anyone mind explaining to me how all this mesh stuff works?

Alexis Kiyori

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2049 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all. First post on here. Recently I’ve returned from an SL hiatus & I’ve noticed everyone talks about investing in “bento” “physique” “maitreya Lara” & i’m extremely confused. I was hoping someone could explain it all to me? How it works? How much i’m looking at spending overall. I feel like a total newbie lol.. thanks in advance! :)

-Lex

• Like 2

Welcome back!

The names you said, besides the first one, are from brands that sell body and/or heads. Bento is the recently released project that adds new rigging bones to the default avatar, creating new attachment points and new possibility of rigged animations like wings and pets.

Physique is a mesh body as well Maitreya Lara also is. Mesh bodies are a solution for the cranky outdated look that the default SL body has, it gives a smoother look and a more detailed shape, specially to hands and feet. 

Mesh bodies are but an object that you attach, they are rigged, it means they do follow any animations your body does, usually they have clothing/tattoo layers, like the system body has, but you have to use specific appliers for them to show up. Also mesh clothing stores usually offer sizes for the most popular bodies as they differ in shape, they need specific clothes for them.

When mesh heads started being a thing, they where animated using frames, which means a lot of invisible differently positioned expressions and heavy scripting. They also had a fixed shape. Now after bento the mesh heads follow the shape editing sliders which offers the avatar more options to look unique.