Face detail problems in all viewers

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3987 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

When I started playing Second Life five years ago, I had no money and did everything on the cheap.  Rather than buy a photorealistic skin, I designed my own avatar using the system appearance editor.  Even after I could afford any skin I wanted, I had grown fond of my quirky appearance and kept it.  So my female avatar doesn't have some glamorous screen star skin.  Instead, I used the appearance editor -> Face Details option to add freckles, rosy cheeks, and light pink lips.

About a year ago, something went wrong and she looked like a goth girl: Those innocent flushed cheeks now are black, as are the lips.  The freckles still look OK, but they're dark brown to begin with so who can tell?

It's not my viewer: In recent weeks I have tried the latest LL Viewer, Cool VL Viewer, and Singularity viewer on both a Linux machine and a Dell running Windows 7 (as well as a VMWare virtual Windows 8 session on the Dell).

In preferences->Graphics, I have all shaders enabled except water reflections; local lights, hardware skinning, and avatar cloth are enabled. Draw distance is 128, Post Process Quality high, and all mesh detail options are on high except trees, terrain, and sky.  Changing any of those has no effect on the goth black face detail.  I keep my sun position on high noon all the time and I have even put a big honkin' face light right in front of me that only washes out all detail while leaving cheeks and lips black.

Face detail problems