Camming in close, problem

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4492 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Sorry if this isn't the most appropriate place, but I can't think of a better one.

I'm working on some pretty tiny things atm(not a first for me, so I'm not a complete noob on this). I'm running into a problem I've never had before though. It's been a while since I made something this tiny, so I might be missing something someone may be able to help with.

I used to be able to cam in very close on things like gems, that are itty bitty micros. Now I have all my settings what they were before, as far as I know, but I can't cam in as close as I used to be able to, and I don't know why. Now when I cam in, I can get kinda close, but not close enough. My camera tends to go right through what I am making, when it shouldn't.

An example, I'm making a ring-something I've done a lot-and I want to cam in really close on the gems-something I've been able to do in the past.  Just when I get to the point that I believe is close enough, the camera goes right through it(or the item turns transparent, it's hard for me to tell). I don't know if this is a setting I no longer have turned on(or off if that's the issue), but I've gone through everything I can think of, nothing is helping. When I scroll back my cam to get out of the item, I'm too far away.

Making the ring bigger, working on it, then resizing back down is the option I am using at the moment, but it's a pain in the butt when the item is already linked and I have to do this to every single piece(not too bad with a lower prim object, annoying with a higher prim one). But like I said, I've never had to do this before (except when I really was a noob and didn't know my cam controls very well).