Multiple Monitor Support

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1418 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

One of the peccadilloes of the Linden Lab SL viewer (and TPVs) which has been bugging me of late, is the support for multiple monitors.

Now, I'm not talking about being able to extend your screen across two adjacent monitors, I'm talking about the ability to pop out, and move chat windows, notecards, HUDs, etc off to a second monitor, leaving a 'clean slate' for SL in all its SLishness :-).

Now, I'm not a programmer, but I wonder if some smart viewer programmer would be able and willing, to rise to the challenge, and garner a legion of fans (or at least, just me).

• Like 2

this is one of the hard problems of input and output balancing which is still waiting for a real-world solution

is not just a SL problem. It affects every game title as well.  Pretty much, only super fast internet connections and super fast hardware is going to make this possible

• Thanks 1

The Microsoft Flight Simulator games used to do this, and it was wonderful, being able to put various displays and windows on other screens.

Most productivity (Blender, Gimp, Photoshop) software allows it.

It's something we've wanted for SL for a long time, but nobody seems capable of making it happen.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

11 minutes ago, bigmoe Whitfield said:

okay this is real and nobody ever picked it up, I wish they would have,  https://www.firestormviewer.org/introducing_firestorm_dui/

the Firestorm DUI effort ran into the same input / output balancing problem that every other real time interactive 3D graphics online effort runs into