Need help with emissive masks.

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1824 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I am trying to learn how to create emissive masks. I've gotten everything just about done: I chose a test texture, created a mask in Photoshop (all parts show up as red that I do not want to glow in-world, and the vice versa for white), and saved as a targa (.tga) file. I have tested it in-world and... no emission, I can't even use the menu to change it, the dropdown is grayed out. What am I doing wrong? Can I get some advice? I am not new to texturing but I am new to this type of texturing. I have a feeling I am quite close to having this figured out, but I do not understand why it's not working in-world.

Transparent or black pixels will not glow - any color will glow in that color.

You add this mask to your texture as the transparency layer and save it as 32bit TGA.

In SL you set the alpha mask to emissive and of course you activate glow for that surface.

Edited by Nova Convair
  • Like 1

Just now, Pirschjaeger Fassbinder said:

I'm (and others are) trying to be helpful here and sometimes we have to ask the seemingly obvious questions in order to troubleshoot your problem. 

Okay, fair enough. But my problem is in saving the texture and then getting it to work in-world. I've got an alpha channel set up on my test texture but when I save it as .tga it simply doesn't work in-world. 

10 minutes ago, Pirschjaeger Fassbinder said:

I'm (and others are) trying to be helpful here and sometimes we have to ask the seemingly obvious questions in order to troubleshoot your problem. 

And the reason is the OP expected everyone to play 20 questions to find out the relevant info. 

6 minutes ago, Pamela Galli said:

Seriously? You come here for help then insult people for not reading your mind?