Policing in Second Life

Serunus

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4777 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,

I'm a undergraduate student and I'm interested in the policing of SL for my dissertation project. As a researcher, I am interested in user experience regarding the different ways in which SL is currently being policed, either by an unofficial (not sanctioned by Linden Labs) Or official “police” force.

I'm not completely sure if there is really an unofficial non-role playing police force on SL? Can someone clarify that for me please? If there is does anyone know how effective they are? Or How effective Linden is when it comes to regulating SL?

Please keep in mind that by participating in this thread, you are also giving consent to use your statements/opinions as part of my research. In the finished dissertation paper, all users will be anonymous.

If anyone needs to contact me on SL, search for Serunus.

Advance thanks!

• Like 1

There are a few unofficial, volunteer police groups in SL. I don't mean Role-Play, but groups that help deal with griefers. Go in-world & Search on Police with Groups selected to find them. They're sort of like a combination of neighborhood watch & hired security firm. The one that I dealt with seemed reputable & consciencious.

Also the Policing "groups" tend to be looked down on by most people. Residents are not moderators, unless the land owner gives you rights.

Too many times have I had to deal with "SL Police" that come into my sims and try to tell people what to do. I'm quick to ban them.

Serunus wrote:

Really? But aren't they mostly there in case of griefers? What if it's something like stealing or anything to do with money?

The problem is they often know little to nothing of our local rules, and break many of them in the process of trying to "Help". Often they are rude and unprofessional in their methods as well.