Gimp 2.8 VS. Photoshop 7

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4340 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm Using Photoshop 7, I just realized it's now 10 years old.  There's no way I can afford to get the current version of Photoshop, so thought I'd down load Gimp 2.80  I'm happy to see that Gimp now can be in just one window :)  Thought I'd post this here to see if anyone might know how the new version of Gimp compares to a 10 year old version of Photoshop. 

I've only looked at Gimp briefly, but was impressed by it. I had PS7, and found it very frustrating as it is really the last version of it's sort, and most filters/brushes/tutorials do not suit PS7 and earlier. (I've been using PS CS3 for a few years now, and even it seems outdated by the latest with 3D painting.)

There are more inworld classes based on latest Gimp, and none for PS7. So you might find it easier to learn if you swap over.

I'd say go for it.

Some people love GIMP some people hate it. I always tell people GIMP is free so if you find you don't like all you have wasted is a little time. Photoshop costs money. So where would you rather start? GIMP approaches the idea of editing images form a different set of assumptions then Photoshop does. For some people this works for some it doesn't.

phaedra Exonar wrote:

... so thought I'd down load Gimp 2.80  I'm happy to see that Gimp now can be in just one window
:)

That's great that finally Gimp can be run in one window.  I always found it very annoying as Gimp had free floating windows scattered all over the desktop.

One window, very good news. :smileyhappy:

hibit Spad wrote: