Permission Fraud - They Sell You Textures and Hinder You to Use Them

Rita Munro

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4602 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Permission Fraud - They Sell You Textures and Hinder You to Use Them

I am a merchant and busy builder. This happened to me in MULTIPLE cases:

Somebody gave me a texture with a permission notecard like "you may use the texture (or sculpty) in your own builds."

Fine. I did my work. I created something new, may be with a tricky script, several more textures. Then I took fotos and put the item for sale. A lot of work behind me.

And you know what? As my new build is fresh on the market, I receive a message from the one texture vendor, claiming the permission or copyright ON MY BUILD! I shall take it off at all or restrict the permission or something else.

Happened SEVERAL times to me: I searched my inventory for the notecard of the purchase. There I can read, that I am perfectly inline with the granted permission. I show the notecard to the vendor.

You know what? - Those guys hand me new notecards with changed permissions and ask me to take off my item. Or those guys claim their own TOS sentences would be "an error" or "a hole" or "mean something differently". And I would be responsible for their lack in language skills. I shall take off the item from market.

They threaten you with DCMA, the litter your shop, they difame you in groups. Just because they want to force you under their jurisdiction. It is about might. I received hate-IMs from avatars, I never met before. The guys had diffamed me everywhere. btw: The worst here is a shop for animated textures.

So here comes my WARNING:

If you can avoid, DO NOT BUY TEXTURES. 99% of them are free copies of the internet. Google shows them to you. Upload them by yourself. This is much cheaper, the choice is much better and you avoid so many troubles.