Some annoying newbie questions

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4762 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this.

I'm only a week old and I like it enough that I think I want to spend more time here. I have been using IMVU for several years, but I've recently become so disillusioned with them that I wanted to find a better environment. Tbh it's sorta like going from pre-K to college in one leap. 

So here are some things I wanted to know. I've spent most of the day trying to find the answers, but I guess I'm using the wrong keywords. First, is there some sort of definition list for SL jargon? I see words like "prims" and "rezz" and haven't the foggiest notion of what they mean. Second, What's the importance of rankings? I got a message today that I am now a "recognized resident".... Also, I saw this really neato motorcycle that I'd like to get, but the description seemed to be written in Klingon, so I didn't want to go buying stuff I don't know how to use or where and all that. If I buy a vehicle does it go in my pocket when I'm through playing with it? And do I have to know Klingon before I can operate a vehicle? And lastly, I have been teleporting all over the place, checking stuff out. Is there a possibility that I could mess up and teleport somewhere I'm not supposed to be? I don't want to upset anyone.