Any Tips and Tricks for new store?

SolsticeCarlet

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1069 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I’m in the process of opening a store, have creations underway, have land, am decorating and setting up vendors, etc. 

it’s really small for now and I’m not totally new to SL or to marketing in general but I guess I am new to opening a store in world. I know to send up a landmark, list in search, etc. 

Any other tips or must do’s when opening up a place?

please and thank you in advance ❤️

Also worth mentioning—> im barely starting to figure out flickr for anyone who mentions that lol but I know there’s so much to gain from that too. 

I’m hoping this could help other small merchants opening up as well. :3

• Like 1

Firstly have fun owning your shop. 

For a majority of creators these days sales are down (yes, anecdotal but I personally don't know ANYONE whos sales are up -- hence my "majority statement".  If I am wrong I will be happy) --  so don't expect a great income stream.  Try and get into some of the weekend sales events (instore) since those seem to be doing fairly well still.  

You might want to start a store group. Most stores have those; I never have :D.   

If your items are presented in poster form (as in clothing - jewelry etc. rather than out on the floor as in furniture) then learning to take GOOD VENDOR PHOTOS should be high on your todo list. Find some examples that you like to pattern yours after  those.   

Good luck. 

• Like 3

Events are the best promotion I've found. I sell a lot at the event and the publicity keeps things selling afterwards. Not all events are equal though, so I'm not suggesting signing up for a billion of those monthly events. Look for bigger events and sign up for one of the cheaper options to test the water. (I've sold more at events this year than last year, so I haven't noticed a drop in sales as a small merchant.)