Model Building

IvyTechEngineer

Hello, I have bought some wonderful models in the Second Life Marketplace but now want to build my own models that can be used for our engineering classes. I am just getting started and have created many CAD models using Solidworks and have used Blender to reduce mech count and convert into DAE files. However, my models still have larger than desired Land Impact count. Any suggestions?

Thanks IvyEngineer

• Like 1

Have you made physics models for the buildings?  That is very important in SL -- unless of course you don't want the buildings to be walkthrough and they are just for looks.   

Here is a video that explains. It is older though so the interface won't match if you are using 2.8.  The ideas are all still valid. 

You also need to clean up your file most likely and optimize it for SL before exporting as a DAE. Most folks skip that part :D and it is important.  

The other thing may be that you have your lowest LOD set "too high" (that is a relative term and a matter of judgement).  If you want to paste in some screenshots, then folks can help you better.  

Edited by Chic Aeon

When importing into SL, amongst other things, the mesh uploader calculates 3 values :

from the Second Life Knowledge Base 

https://community.secondlife.com/knowledgebase/english/calculating-land-impact-r273/

• Download weight: Calculated by determining how much bandwidth is required to download and view the object. The  You can reduce the download weight of complex objects by generating or uploading less complex meshes for differing levels of detail when you upload a model.