How do skyboxes work?

Junejewels

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1508 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi guys, I'm new to second life and I'm really confused. I want to get the Soho Skybox by Onsu but I don't know where to place it. I don't understand how to know if a parcel of land I buy will be big enough to fit the skybox. Or does it not matter because it's in the sky?

The skybox should be within the floorplan of the parcel ideally... although I doubt anyone will mind about a bit of overhang so long as the root prims are in your parcel.

If you use firestorm easiest thing to do is rezz it at ground level, go in to edit and then change the z axis number to height that you want..... eg 2000 for 2000m and then go into fly mode and type "gth 2000" into nearby chat to go up to it to join it. then you can decorate it, place a teleporter pad etc. "flr" in nearby chat will return you to ground level.

Skyboxes should give their dimensions in the description for you to compare with your parcel size.

Looking at as an example since you mention Onsu, you can see a number of different options for it. I musty admit they are a bit cryptic and include lines like:

"Onsu ~ "Soho" Skybox ~ w/ Shelf ~ w/ Env ~ 98 L.I (40x28)

Onsu ~ "Soho" Skybox ~ w/ Shelf ~ No Env ~ Smaller Texture Ver ~ 98 L.I (18x28) "

I would take that to basically mean you need a minimum of 18x28 parcel... If you are wanting a surround with it, ie to see out the windows to a scene of other buildings maybe a texture or texture with some 3d pieces to create an effect you would want 40x28 parcel. You might be able to get away with 18x28 and just overhang on to other parcels... it depends a bit on your neighbours... but generally should be okay up in the sky... I wouldn't complain if my neighbour was overhanging up in the sky so long as they weren't using any of my land allowance.

Edited by Aethelwine
  • Like 1