My avatar as an aspect of my self

Logos Sohl

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3108 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everyone, 

I haven't been active in Second Life for quite some time now but I was wondering if you could help me out anyway. I did a lot of research in Second Life several years ago and spent a lot of time in Second Life. Over time, I went from being a complete noob who had no idea what it was all about to an active resident with close friends and contacts in Second Life and in various communities within it. 

Anyway, I am having a tough time explaining how I relate to my avatar to outsiders. I have a real world identity and an inworld identity. I write to you right now from a keyboard and I am not inworld. Yet I feel that I am communicating with you guys as Logos Sohl, as my avatar in a way. Still, I talk about her as if she is a separate entity from myself. I do this even though I really do believe I am part of her and she is part of me. So I was wondering if you could help me out and tell me how you explain this idea to outsiders. 

How do you feel you relate to your avatar? Do you feel you are your avatar when you are inworld or is your avatar just a character or puppet you direct? When you're inworld, do you feel immersed in the space, do you feel physically in the space? What used to happen to me was that I'd be so busy chatting to people or listening to conversations that I'd almost go back to ignoring my avatar and where she was and what she was doing... do you guys have this experience? 

Any help at all would be very useful, 

Logos