Do you think your avatar is art?

georginamae1992

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3771 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

yes, I could say most of the avatars in SL are art.

if you modify something for pure aesthetic purposes, then is art. art don't have practical value, it just stimulate the senses to provide the reciever with a pleasant or interesting experience.

avatars exist in SL to provide us with an identity, and we modify the avatars to provide us and others that percieve us, a pleasant or interesting experience, therefore, avatars mostly are art.

the cases where they are not art is if the user is not using the avatar to be percieved by others, they are using it for practical puposes, for example to monitor a sim, to test animations, or as an account to save your lindens.

georginamae1992 wrote:

I am an Art Student, and writing my dissertation about how the avatar (particularly in SL) can be considered artwork, both in its design and in its performative nature.

If you have any thoughts about this idea I would be really grateful to hear them!

Thanks

In real life I'm a theatrical costume designer. If what I do there can be considered art, than what I do when I create an avatar is. I approach making an avatar the same way I approach doing a costume for a character - taking the idea of a person and determining how they will look without having an actual model. In Second Life I also have control over how the avatar moves, can change its body to suit my vision and if they eat or smoke in their costumes it's because I MADE them do it and I don't have to wash the clothes afterwards.

Waits for the troops to demand credentials.