Firestorm Questions

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4069 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello peoples...

I am not sure if this is going to stay here, but wasn't sure where else to put it as it's not an SL technology issue...

Firestorm has made a bit of an issue on their site regarding their internal codes and LL's new release and the SSB code and how everything is going to get all wonky (my term..not firestorms...)

I'm not a techie by any stretch of the imagination, so could one of your gurus be kind enough to explain what's going on, what's going to happen and what, if anything, I need to do about it? Should I stop using Firestorm and try a different viewer? Is it necessary to use SL's viewer (which I'm not really a fan of)?

HELP!!

Thanks....

Althought i think the improving of the server side baking, will be a great one, i think that yes, we have to expect some hard weeks with viewers.

But i have no doubt that Firestorm team will find a way to make quickly a new stable viewer working with the SSB and usual, with really awesome features and performances..

I guess it will be some weeks of pain, with instablity and a lot of crashes and some other lil problems, but its for a better future, so we just have to be patient.

On my side, ill try to keep with Firestorm the most ill be able to do, if i need another viewer for a short period i will try the Singularity. I will avoid the most i can the official viewer, that i really dislike.

There isn't much to worry.
What it is about, when the Firestorm-Team received the SSB-Viewercode,
it had some stability issues, when integrated into the viewer's main codebase.

Since Linden Lab wants to roll out Server Side Baking in the next weeks,
there is not enough time to make it really rocksolid, so the next few versions
of the Firestorm viewer will not have the usual stability.

In other words, you might get the occasional crash.