Virtual Value

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4475 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,
I'm a graduate student studying aesthetic theory. I'm currently researching the ethical implications of virtual reality and I'm reaching out to individuals involved in the creation of virtual environments or those who participate in them. Below is a very brief questionnaire that I would greatly aid my research. I would very much appreciate your time and effort in answering these questions. Thank you for your time. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

1. What role do virtually constructed worlds and/or avatars play in your daily life?

2. Is it important that your avatar and/or environment resemble the real world? Why or why not?

3. In what ways do you identify physically, visually, or otherwise with your virtual world/avatar?

4. How do you interact with other individuals in the virtual world?

5. How are these relationships different and similar to those in the real world?

6. Do you feel the same sense of responsibility, loyalty, or obligation to other individuals in the virtual world as you would in the real world?

7. Granted that you are physically in front of a screen, what does it mean to be "face to face" with another individual in virtual reality?

8. How does your participation in or construction of a virtual world satisfy your real world needs?

Interesting questions.

1. What role do virtually constructed worlds and/or avatars play in your daily life?

After 5 years still spending a lot of time in SL, so it plays a big role in my life.

2. Is it important that your avatar and/or environment resemble the real world? Why or why not?

Absolutely not. In a VW I can represent anything I'd like to be and sometimes I use the opportunity. Mostly playing as a human of my own gender tho; only younger and better looking.