Question for viewer developers

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 370 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So, I have some experience in coding LSL, Swift and a little PHP.

I want to start looking into developing my own viewer, not for public use per say, I just want some features added that no one else seems interested in doing, but I think would be pretty neat. I have tried suggesting to LL or TPV developers and no one seems interested in improving the scripting window, so I want to do it myself.

However, I am not entirely sure, beyond learning C++, what else I would need to start modifying my own viewer.

Can one of the viewer developers give me a break down of things I should learn and things that, might not be necessary, but would be very helpful if I was to cover it?

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

This is a massive project.

Using VSCode or Kate or any other mature feature rich editor isn't. It's one line in a debug setting that results in a massive feature set with UI controls and capabilities the SL viewer simply doesn't have.

This isn't just a matter of learning some C++. It's learning the viewer and the UI system & capabilities offered in the viewer. You will have to craft new UI controls using the viewers existing systems from whole cloth. There are no shortcuts or drop in alternatives or documentation.

Get the viewer source and figure out how it works. The long way. There isn't really anything I can say that will help you hit the ground running.

Most people start by making small adjustments to existing UI and learning why that doesn't work, can't work or just breaks everything.

• Like 2

It's a big job. A good way to start is to download the Firestorm sources and build Firestorm on your own machine.