is it true?

Imee Kenin

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4695 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I heard from friends that all secondary viewers except Firestorm are being ban by LL.. Is this true? I just started playing w/ the singularity viewer and love it cuz its causes me less lag. It would suck if I had to go to Firestorm or V2 because I hate both viewers. I tried Firestorm because its by phoenix and as soon as I saw it was just like V2 I uninstalled it. :/

I have not heard any news stating that.

My knowledge on Viewer development is limited but I do know that LL has a Policy or check list for which Viewers must comply. In a past Viewer Policy change LL wanted Viewer Developers to close some security loop holes. Some Developers thought it was unnecessary to rewrite their entire Viewer to conform to standards that are still in development. (nobody has the perfect system).

If a Viewer is not Included, this could be a reason why. Check the with the Viewer Developer you prefer, they will have the most up to date information.

Your friends are either ingenious hoaxers or labouring under a massive misapprehension.

LL is certainly not banning Singularity, or any other legitimate TPV.   What they are doing, and this may have lead to your friends' confusion, is developing the SL server code with V2-based viewers in mind, and if this breaks functionality in V1-based viewers, like Phoenix or Singularity, then it's up to the the developers of the TPV to patch their viewers to accommodate the new code.

More and more rumours about LL making v1 based viewers blocked way or another. 3rd party developers can ofcourse update their clients to continue working without adding the v2 iDiot UI. But 1.23 and snowglobe will prolly stop workign in near future. This is a rumour. Will see.