Marvelous Designer to Blender

Wulfie Reanimator

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1418 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I got Marvelous Designer this morning out of curiosity and... wow some people are lazy.

I'm going to write a little tutorial for exporting a piece of clothing from MD into Blender so you can further optimize/retopo it.

Disclaimer: This is my first time using MD or creating any kind of clothing. Here's what I'm gonna use for my example:

d4e6c4febb.png

Part 1: Leaving Marvelous Designer

1. Select all clothing pieces
  2. Export the simulated cloth model (Export > OBJ)
    • Make sure your export settings are set to:
      • Select All Patterns (no avatars)
      • Single Object
      • Unweld
      • Thin
      • Unified UV Coordinates
      • Scale: Meters (optional)
  3. Right-click your cloth in MD's 3D view, select "Reset 2D Arrangement (Selected)"
    384c6fad14.png

4. Export the cloth model again with the same settings

Part 2: Entering Blender

1. Import both OBJ files, don't move them
  2. Rename the simulated model to "MD" and the flat model to "MD-Flat"
  3. Duplicate MD-Flat and rename it to "Retopo"
  4. Retopologize it now, trust me. Make sure your edges have a matching number of verts, you'll merge them together later.
  5. Select MD, then MD-Flat, then use the command "Join as Shapes"
    f9e571e032.png
    • Select the MD shape key (Object Data tab) and make sure "Value" is at 0

6. Add the Surface Deform modifier to Retopo, with MD-Flat as the target, and bind it
    7b5a9baec9.png

7. Make Retopo overlap with MD, you're done! (almost)
    1. Select MD-Flat
    2. Go to Object Data
    3. Select the MD shape key and set "Value" to 1
      72f20f030c.png

Your retopo'd mesh should now perfectly align with the original MD cloth.