Jump to content
  • 0

how to use my SL account on new computer?


You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 396 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

8 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
2 minutes ago, gamelyn555 said:

Is there a Knowledge Base file on the subject of loading a account to a new computer? 

There is nothing to "load", as far as the account goes.  Install the viewer and log in - it will create whatever files on the computer it needs for the account.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 hours ago, Rolig Loon said:

Just install the viewer (SL standard viewer or Firestorm or whatever ...) and log in.  That's it.

If you still have your old computer you want to BACKUP your Firestorm settings and the when you install on the new computer you RESTORE those settings. All that info is on the installation page at Firestorm.    This will save you LOTS of work. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

In general, everything relating to SL is kept in the SL servers.

Viewer settings are a mix of information kept on the SL servers and in the local files of the viewer. The local stuff is what Chic is talking about above. If you have been customizing your viewer, note I wrote viewer, then you may need to save and transfer your "VIEWER" settings. All the important SL settings are server-side and will be used with any computer you use to log in from.

Video settings (LOW to ULTRA) are viewer side. They need to change for the hardware running the viewer. So, those are viewer-side. Cache and network settings are made for the hardware running the viewer. They too are viewer-side. Most of these settings are variable-default settings. They vary depending on what hardware runs the viewer. The first time the viewer is run on a new machine it probes the machine and decides which default settings to use. Unless you tweak your viewer to your personal preferences the defaults are fine. If you tweak your viewer for performance you will likely need to tweak the new computer manually rather than transfer the settings. Your new computer likely has better hardware and rendering abilities. The settings from the older computer may be worse than the new defaults the viewer picked.

We don't know enough about your old computer and the new computer to know whether your SHOULD or SHOULDN'T transfer your settings. You'll need to decide.

Link to post
Share on other sites
You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 396 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...